If you cant beat them, then sing.

September 12, 2006

ze-frank-911-copy.jpg

I knew the man, ze frank, would publish something wonderful for 9/11.

On 7th September he spoke of the expectant hype that the anniversary would bring and reminisces where he was on the day the towers were attached and the unity of the people.

On the anniversary he brought hope to remembrance in a way that mainstream media would hopeless fail at. Although his reach is approximately 250k per day, Hose (Ze Frank) is not daily fodder for everyone , but by producing media like this, he adds the ability to look forward with hope rather than take the opportunity to look back and angst. He sets no agenda, critiques no conspiracy, points no fingers. Importantly, he highlights in the lyrics the flaws of retaliation, the zero-sum of conflict.

Being able to seed minds with a song that assists in the progression of an open society is perhaps one of the most powerful tools to the communication industry. With a song – you fight with non-zero-sum – it’s infectious and it’s empowering. Yes, Coke did this with ‘Teach the World‘. Monty Python with ‘Bright side of Life‘ and of course WK Honda advert ‘Hate something, Change something.’

Why cant more communication move to towards the lyrical structures that we enjoy within music? Perhaps the rolling news broadcasts should experiment in rhyming couplets, documentaries using sonnets, DIY shows in rap. Lyrical formats are a formidable way to guide emotions and they are potentially a copyright free mode of address. With the perceptive rise of new music everywhere, surely these copyrighting skill can be lent to media production as a whole.

Ad funded music is a dull form of commerce, Leapmusic (75% owned by BBH) have ‘spawn 9 No1 hits in the UK’, but of course, this and the above are all copyright protected productions; what you want as a media producer is to seed this tune into the vocabulary of the audience – for them to use and rework, spreading your meme, or rhyme..

Just as we need more openness in the field of international politics, perhaps the way forward should be lead by openness in music production. Imagine the cultural diversity achievable by spending the war chest treasures on opening music rights instead of closing down international relationships.

I’d be very interested in seeing the graph showing the production & consumption of music (or any cultural production in fact) in relationship with times of war. In times of crisis, people come together, yet do we make the most of the unity to work together and create the tipping point that elevates creativity above destruction?

The lyrics from Ze Franks modestly iconic requiem of hope…

Chorus:
Pump, pump, pump that area,
Pump, pump, pump that area,
Pump, pump, pump that area,
But don’t give in to the hysteria.
Do you remember that September?
I remember that September.
You remember that September, that September this September.
If you prick me, I will bleed, if you prick me, I will bleed.
If you prick me, I will bleed, I will bleed, I will bleed,
If you prick me, I will bleed,
But I have lots of blood to bleed.
Chorus
If you mug me, I won’t run, I won’t run to get my gun
I won’t run to get my gun
‘Cause if I do then you’ll have won
Do you remember that September?
I remember that September.
You remember that September, that September this September.

Leave a Reply

  • RSS The Main RSS

  • RSS Clippings

  • Fresh on Flickr

    Small Worlds - rathergood.com

    Small Worlds - rathergood.com Screenshot

    Purefold

    what are you doing? - Wolfram|Alpha

    Wolfram|Alpha

    [Page 227] Stephen Wolfram: A New Kind of Science | Online

    noum (noum) on Twitter

    Katy Sissis (vromma) on Twitter

    More Photos
  • For the machines…

  • RSS Wordie!

  • Marketing Blogs - Blog Catalog Blog Directory
